MAC Lipstick Secret!

Yesterday started and ended with awesome MAC experiences!  When I woke up, I discovered I won DebE’s 100 Followers Thank You MAC giveaway!  (I will do a post about that when my goodies arrive.)  I had been wanting to go to the MAC store for about 3 weeks since I learned Sicilianna Beauty’s tip about adding a layer of MAC translucent powder between coats of lipstick.  Winning DebE’s giveaway spurred me on to finally get to the mall last night despite an awful thunder storm and fatigue from a long day at work.

MAC Spice It Up lustre lipstick (mulled brown berry) & Burgundy lip pencil (brownish-burgundy) & NC5 Select Sheer loose translucent powder

I felt like a kid in a candy store surrounded by all those yummy-smelling MAC lipsticks!  But what made my experience was the cheerful and knowledgeable makeup consultant Heidi.  When I asked about translucent powder to make lipstick last longer, she demoed an awesome tip she learned from one of the head guys at MAC.

MAC lipstick steps:

  1. Line lips with lip pencil.
  2. Apply lipstick.
  3. Separate a two-ply facial tissue into two pieces.
  4. Dip powder brush into sheer loose powder.  Lightly tap brush against side of powder container in order to remove excess powder from brush.
  5. Gently press one piece of tissue against your lips, then gently press powder brush against tissue.
  6. Apply another layer of lipstick.

Heidi noted that lipstick is buildable with this technique.  Steps 5 and 6 can be repeated if you like.  She said that starting with lip primer would be even better in terms of making lipstick last longer.

Heidi patiently helped me with different lustre-finish lipsticks I wanted to try on.  To my surprise, she then suggested I try on a reddish-brown lipstick.  Red?!  I’ve been wearing more subdued lipsticks for the past few years, so I didn’t really expect to like it, but I gave it a try because she said red is the hot colour for this fall, particularly blue reds and Bordeaux.  I was surprised to discover that I liked it!  Please excuse the practically bare face and crazy hair in this pic.  Note to self: Don’t go shopping for beauty products when you look haggard because your outing may end up on your blog!

MAC Spice It Up lustre lipstick (mulled brown berry) & Burgundy lip pencil (brownish-burgundy) swatch

I ended up buying three products demoed on me (see pics above):

  • Lipstick:      Spice It Up! (Lustre) (Colour: Mulled brown berry) $18
  • Lip pencil:  Burgundy (Colour:  Brownish-burgundy) $18
  • Powder:      NC5 (Select Sheer/Loose) $30

Thanks DebE and Heidi for a great MAC day yesterday!   🙂

27 thoughts on “MAC Lipstick Secret!

  1. Thats really a great tip to make lipstick last. But I always end up eating my lipstick in just a couple of hours!! By the way, the shade looks super cool on you. Its actually lifting.

  2. So great helping you out that day…come see me again for anything else…love your blog, great job! you’re a fab lady and red certainly is a beautiful color on you!

  3. Holly – Great post! I love learning new tricks to make makeup last longer. I just happened to see the new MAC palettes yesterday and ended up buying the warm face palette, as well as a satin lipstick – Amorous. I may now have to get some of the powder. Sometimes the MAC colors are too wild for me, seems like they are featuring more natural/toned down eye colors this season which is nice. Thanks for sharing the tip! You look marvelous. Jen

  4. Pingback: What’s happening this Week: Fox in Flats – Red Lipstick Dare Part 2 | Fashionista in Suburbia

What do you think?

