Marc Anthony’s Oil of Morocco Collection – Argan Oil Treatment, Shampoo, & Conditioner

“You haven’t tried Argan oil?!” my cousin said as she gasped, clutched her chest, and looked at me in utter shock and disbelief. Apparently I’ve been slow to jump on this latest bandwagon. I guess I hadn’t noticed because I was still delighting in my collection of John Frieda Luxurious Volume hair products – they work for me and they come in such pretty blue packaging (to be reviewed in an upcoming post).

But the seed was now planted, so when I stumbled upon a trio of Marc Anthony Argan oil products at Costco for $17.99, I decided to cheat on John Frieda and give Marc Anthony a try (I sorta felt a bit like Seinfeld). It came in nice blue packaging too, although not as eye catching as John Frieda. The box promises stronger, shinier, healthier looking hair. All three products are sulfate free and reportedly combat damage, breakage, dryness, dullness, and frizz.

Infused with keratin grape seed oil Costco

What is Argan oil anyway?

Here’s what Marc Anthony’s website has to say:

  • “We often look to beauty secrets of the past as inspiration for now. One of the greatest ancestral beauty secrets comes from Morocco – Argan Oil. It is really a ‘super oil’ because it has so many benefits – strengthening, moisturizing, shine, damage relief, and the list goes on. When you buy Argan Oil for your hair you’re getting one of the best natural resources for healthy looking hair.” – Marc Anthony Stylist Team
  • Argan Oil – the foundation for the Oil of Morocco collection. This powerful Moroccan oil, with an added boost of strengthening Keratin, has been infused into each product to create a full system for high moisture and unbeatable strength. It starts with your wash to rid hair of impurities while gently moisturizing; then to your condition for super hydration, shine and restoration. Finally a daily lightweight oil treatment to impart strength, add shine and control frizz.

Shampoo (1 L/33.8 fluid oz)

  • Infused with Argan oil, keratin, & grape seed oil
  • Deeply cleanses while restoring, protecting, & nourishing hair
  • Revives shine
  • Protects colour

What do I think?

  • Smells okay
  • Pump dispenser is convenient
  • I have a lot of hair, so I need two pumps of shampoo to get enough lather – maybe that’s why the shampoo bottle is so much bigger than the conditioner bottle

Conditioner (400 mL/13.5 fluid oz)

  • Infused with Argan oil, keratin, & grape seed oil
  • Deeply penetrates to hydrate, restore strength, & add high luster
  • Improves manageability
  • Protects colour

What do I think?

  • Smells weird
  • Flip top lid is convenient
  • Thick conditioner takes longer to work through all of my hair
  • My hair seems to get greasy around the crown sooner (ie, by the next morning)

Infused with ultra-light Mediterranean olive oil ancestral beauty secret Vitamin E Shea butter Costco

Treatment (50 mL/1.69 fluid oz)

  • Infused with ultra-light Mediterranean olive oil & Argan oil – the ancestral beauty secret of Morocco
  • Deeply penetrates to strengthen, protect, & condition
  • Vitamin E & Shea butter hydrate & soften
  • For all hair types
  • Lightweight formula won’t leave a residue
  • Apply 1 to 3 drops (depending on hair length & thickness) to damp or dry hair & distribute evenly from root to ends. Do not rinse out
  • For extra dry, damaged hair, apply 2 to 4 drops to dry hair at night before bedtime

What do I think?

  • Smells quite pleasant – I think it might be the Shea butter
  • I like having this adorable little brown bottle on my bathroom counter
  • A little goes a long way. I thought I would have to use more drops than instructed because I have a lot of hair, but I haven’t had to
  • It feels neat on my hands when I’m applying it to my hair, so I figure my hands benefit too

Would I buy these products again?

I would not buy the shampoo or conditioner again, for 3 reasons:

  • My colour-treated hair seems to be a tiny bit darker now (could be my imagination) – maybe that’s because it’s healthier? But since I put out the time and money to get my hair touched up every 5 weeks, I don’t want healthier hair if it’s interfering with my colour! I finally found a great hairdresser named Michelle who does my hair exactly the way I want it!
  • I have heavy hair, so volume is more important to me than shine. I’ll slink back to John Frieda with my tail between my legs when I run out of Marc Anthony.
  • Nice-smelling shampoo and conditioner is one of the best parts about washing your hair! So these products were a disappointment in that area.

I would probably buy the treatment again, for 2 reasons:

  • It smells good, looks nice on my bathroom counter, and feels good to my hands, so I feel like I’m doing something extra to pamper myself, which makes me happy.
  • It helps to smooth out dry split ends. I recently woke up with dry and damaged-feeling ends after using copious amounts of curling spritz before attending a wedding the day before. No problem! I just reached for my little brown bottle and voila!

Have you tried Argan oil? What do you think?

BeautyVancouver coupon alertVisit www.marcanthony.com to get a coupon for $2.00 off Marc Anthony Hair Products. For a limited time only while quantities last. Valid only in the USA. Marc Anthony Hair Products are available at CVS, Rite Aid, Walgreens, and other fine retailers.

12 thoughts on “Marc Anthony’s Oil of Morocco Collection – Argan Oil Treatment, Shampoo, & Conditioner

  1. Thats a nice review. Good, atleast you found the Treatment oil useful, if not the conditioner. I guess, not sure though, for Argan oil, the community trade pure Moroccan oil works best for damaged hair rather than commercial products like shampoos and conditioners.

  2. I have used argan oil shampoo. Also when I make my shampoo I sometimes add a few drops. I like it on my face (facial serum I make) I don’t use too much as I’ve noticed breakouts, but that is the beauty of making it as I can control what is the perfect amount for me. Great review!

  3. I have naturally VERY curly hair and so it’s very dry. I have heard Argan Oil is meant to be amazing but ive not used Marc Anthony products before. Might have to pick up the treatment whilst i’m over in Canada.

    Great read and very informative

    • Thanks Amy! Glad you found the article informative. Yes I think the treatment would probably do wonders on very dry hair. You might like the shampoo and conditioner too. Gives you a good excuse to go shopping in Canada! 🙂

What do you think?

